收集指标和日志

本任务展示了配置 Istio,对网格内服务的遥测数据进行自动收集的方法。在任务的后一部分,会创建一个新的指标以及新的日志流,并在网格内的服务被调用时触发收集过程。

这里会使用 Bookinfo 作为示例应用。

开始之前

  • 在集群之中安装 Istio。本文中假设 Mixer 使用的是缺省配置(--configDefaultNamespace=istio-system)。如果使用的是不同的值,需要根据实际情况对文中提及的的配置和命令进行变更。

收集新的遥测数据

  1. 新建一个 YAML 文件,用来配置新的指标以及数据流,Istio 将会进行自动生成和收集的工作。

    以文件名 new_telemetry.yaml 保存下面的代码:

    # 指标 instance 的配置
    apiVersion: "config.istio.io/v1alpha2"
    kind: metric
    metadata:
      name: doublerequestcount
      namespace: istio-system
    spec:
      value: "2" # 每个请求计数两次
      dimensions:
        source: source.service | "unknown"
        destination: destination.service | "unknown"
        message: '"twice the fun!"'
      monitored_resource_type: '"UNSPECIFIED"'
    ---
    # prometheus handler 的配置
    apiVersion: "config.istio.io/v1alpha2"
    kind: prometheus
    metadata:
      name: doublehandler
      namespace: istio-system
    spec:
      metrics:
      - name: double_request_count # Prometheus 指标名称
        instance_name: doublerequestcount.metric.istio-system # Mixer Instance 名称(全限定名称)
        kind: COUNTER
        label_names:
        - source
        - destination
        - message
    ---
    # 将指标 Instance 发送给 prometheus handler 的 rule 对象
    apiVersion: "config.istio.io/v1alpha2"
    kind: rule
    metadata:
      name: doubleprom
      namespace: istio-system
    spec:
      actions:
      - handler: doublehandler.prometheus
        instances:
        - doublerequestcount.metric
    ---
    # logentry(日志条目)的 instance 配置
    apiVersion: "config.istio.io/v1alpha2"
    kind: logentry
    metadata:
      name: newlog
      namespace: istio-system
    spec:
      severity: '"warning"'
      timestamp: request.time
      variables:
        source: source.labels["app"] | source.service | "unknown"
        user: source.user | "unknown"
        destination: destination.labels["app"] | destination.service | "unknown"
        responseCode: response.code | 0
        responseSize: response.size | 0
        latency: response.duration | "0ms"
      monitored_resource_type: '"UNSPECIFIED"'
    ---
    # stdio(标准输入输出)handler 的配置
    apiVersion: "config.istio.io/v1alpha2"
    kind: stdio
    metadata:
      name: newhandler
      namespace: istio-system
    spec:
     severity_levels:
       warning: 1 # Params.Level.WARNING
     outputAsJson: true
    ---
    # 将 logentry instance 发送到 stdio 的 rule 对象配置
    apiVersion: "config.istio.io/v1alpha2"
    kind: rule
    metadata:
      name: newlogstdio
      namespace: istio-system
    spec:
      match: "true" # 匹配所有请求
      actions:
       - handler: newhandler.stdio
         instances:
         - newlog.logentry
    ---
  2. 把新配置推送给集群。

    $ istioctl create -f new_telemetry.yaml
    Created config metric/istio-system/doublerequestcount at revision 1973035
    Created config prometheus/istio-system/doublehandler at revision 1973036
    Created config rule/istio-system/doubleprom at revision 1973037
    Created config logentry/istio-system/newlog at revision 1973038
    Created config stdio/istio-system/newhandler at revision 1973039
    Created config rule/istio-system/newlogstdio at revision 1973041
  3. 向示例应用发送流量。

    在浏览器中打开 Bookinfo 应用的 product 页面:http://$GATEWAY_URL/productpage,或者使用如下的等价命令:

    $ curl http://$GATEWAY_URL/productpage
  4. 复查新指标的生成和收集情况。

    在 Kubernetes 环境中,使用下面的命令为 Prometheus 设置端口转发:

    $ kubectl -n istio-system port-forward $(kubectl -n istio-system get pod -l app=prometheus -o jsonpath='{.items[0].metadata.name}') 9090:9090 &

    使用 Prometheus 界面查看新的指标。

    上面的链接会打开 Prometheus 界面并查询 istio_double_request_count 的值。Console 标签页会以表格形式进行数据展示,类似:

    istio_double_request_count{destination="details.default.svc.cluster.local",instance="istio-mixer.istio-system:42422",job="istio-mesh",message="twice the fun!",source="productpage.default.svc.cluster.local"} 2
    istio_double_request_count{destination="ingress.istio-system.svc.cluster.local",instance="istio-mixer.istio-system:42422",job="istio-mesh",message="twice the fun!",source="unknown"} 2
    istio_double_request_count{destination="productpage.default.svc.cluster.local",instance="istio-mixer.istio-system:42422",job="istio-mesh",message="twice the fun!",source="ingress.istio-system.svc.cluster.local"} 2
    istio_double_request_count{destination="reviews.default.svc.cluster.local",instance="istio-mixer.istio-system:42422",job="istio-mesh",message="twice the fun!",source="productpage.default.svc.cluster.local"} 2

    要查询更多的指标数据,可以参考查询 Istio 指标任务

  5. 检查请求过程中生成和处理的日志流。

    在 Kubernetes 环境中,像这样在 istio-telemetry pod 中搜索日志:

    $ kubectl -n istio-system logs $(kubectl -n istio-system get pods -l istio-mixer-type=telemetry -o jsonpath='{.items[0].metadata.name}') -c mixer | grep \"instance\":\"newlog.logentry.istio-system\"
    {"level":"warn","ts":"2017-09-21T04:33:31.249Z","instance":"newlog.logentry.istio-system","destination":"details","latency":"6.848ms","responseCode":200,"responseSize":178,"source":"productpage","user":"unknown"}
    {"level":"warn","ts":"2017-09-21T04:33:31.291Z","instance":"newlog.logentry.istio-system","destination":"ratings","latency":"6.753ms","responseCode":200,"responseSize":48,"source":"reviews","user":"unknown"}
    {"level":"warn","ts":"2017-09-21T04:33:31.263Z","instance":"newlog.logentry.istio-system","destination":"reviews","latency":"39.848ms","responseCode":200,"responseSize":379,"source":"productpage","user":"unknown"}
    {"level":"warn","ts":"2017-09-21T04:33:31.239Z","instance":"newlog.logentry.istio-system","destination":"productpage","latency":"67.675ms","responseCode":200,"responseSize":5599,"source":"ingress.istio-system.svc.cluster.local","user":"unknown"}
    {"level":"warn","ts":"2017-09-21T04:33:31.233Z","instance":"newlog.logentry.istio-system","destination":"ingress.istio-system.svc.cluster.local","latency":"74.47ms","responseCode":200,"responseSize":5599,"source":"unknown","user":"unknown"}

理解遥测配置

这个任务中使用 Istio 配置,让 Mixer 自动为所有的网格内流量生成和报告新的指标以及新的日志流。

配置中使用了三种 Mixer 功能:

  1. 从 Istio 属性中生成 instance(这里是指标值以及日志条目)

  2. 创建 handler(配置 Mixer 适配器),用来处理生成的 instance

  3. 根据一系列的 rule,把 instance 传递给 handler

理解指标配置

指标的配置让 Mixer 把指标数值发送给 Prometheus。其中包含三块内容:instance 配置、handler 配置以及 rule 配置。

kind: metric 为指标值(或者 instance)定义了结构,命名为 doublerequestcount。Instance 配置告诉 Mixer 如何为所有请求生成指标。指标来自于 Envoy 汇报的属性(然后由 Mixer 生成)。

doublerequestcount.metric 配置让 Mixer 给每个 instance 赋值为 2。因为 Istio 为每个请求都会生成 instance,这就意味着这个指标的记录的值等于收到请求数量的两倍。

每个 doublerequestcount.metric 都有一系列的 dimensiondimension 提供了一种为不同查询和需求对指标数据进行分割、聚合以及分析的方式。例如在对应用进行排错的过程中,可能只需要目标为某个服务的请求进行报告。这种配置让 Mixer 根据属性值和常量为 dimension 生成数值。例如 source 这个 dimension,他首先尝试从 source.service 属性中取值,如果取值失败,则会使用缺省值 "unknown"。而 message 这个 dimension,所有的 instance 都会得到一个常量值:"twice the fun!"

kind: prometheus 这一段定义了一个叫做 doublehandlerhandlerspec 中配置了 Prometheus 适配器收到指标之后,如何将指标 instance 转换为 Prometheus 能够处理的指标数据格式的方式。配置中生成了一个新的 Prometheus 指标,取名为 double_request_count。Prometheus 适配器会给指标名称加上 istio_ 前缀,因此这个指标在 Prometheus 中会显示为 istio_double_request_count。指标带有三个标签,和 doublerequestcount.metricdimension 配置相匹配。

对于 kind: prometheus 来说,Mixer 中的 instance 通过 instance_name 来匹配 Prometheus 指标。instance_name 必须是一个全限定名称(例如:doublerequestcount.metric.istio-system

kind: rule 部分定义了一个新的叫做 doublepromrule 对象。这个对象要求 Mixer 把所有的 doublerequestcount.metric 发送给 doublehandler.prometheus。因为 rule 中没有包含 match 字段,并且身处缺省配置的命名空间内(istio-system),所以这个 rule 对象对所有的网格内通信都会生效。

理解日志配置

日志配置要求 Mixer 把日志发送给 stdout。它使用了三个部分的配置:instance 配置、handler 配置以及 rule 配置。

配置中的 kind: logentry 一节定义了生成日志条目(命名为 newlog 的 instance)的格式。这个 instance 配置告知 Mixer 如何根据请求过程中 Envoy 报告的属性生成日志条目。

severity 参数用来指定生成的 logentry 的日志级别。在本例中使用的是一个常量 "warning"。这个值会被映射到支持日志级别数据的 logentry handler 中。

timestamp 参数为所有日志条目提供了时间信息。在本例中,时间从 Envoy 提供的 request.time 属性得到。

variables 参数让运维人员可以配置每个 logentry 中应该包含什么数据。一系列的表达式控制了从 Istio 属性以及常量映射和组成 logentry 的过程。在本文中,每个 logentry 都有一个 latency 字段,这个字段是从 response.duration 属性中得来的。如果 response.duration 中没有值,latency 字段就会设置为 0ms

kind: stdio 这一段配置定义了一个叫做 newhandler 的 handler。Handler 的 spec 配置了 stdio 适配器收到 logentry instance 之后的处理方法。 severity_levels 参数控制了 logentryseverity 字段的映射方式。这里的常量 "warning" 映射为 WARNING 日志级别。outputAsJson 参数要求适配器生成 JSON 格式的日志。

kind: rule 部分定义了命名为 newlogstdiorule 对象。这个对象引导 Mixer 把所有 newlog.logentry instance 发送给 newhandler.stdio handler。因为 match 参数取值为 true,所以网格中所有的请求都会执行这一对象。

match: true 表达式的含义是,这一对象的执行无需过滤,对所有请求都会生效。在 spec 中省略 match 参数和设置 match: true 是等效的。这里的显示声明,目的是展示在 rule 控制过程中 match 表达式的使用方法。

清理

  • 移除新的遥测配置:

    $ istioctl delete -f new_telemetry.yaml
  • 如果不准备进一步的探索其他任务,可参照 Bookinfo 清理 的介绍关闭应用。

See also

演示如何使用 Istio Mixer 和 Istio sidecar 获取指标和日志,并在不同的服务间进行跟踪。

此任务说明如何使用 Prometheus 查询 Istio 指标。

本任务展示了如何配置 Istio 进行 TCP 服务的指标收集。

概要说明 Mixer 的插件架构。

如何进行代理配置将跟踪请求发送给 Zipkin 或 Jaeger。

描述策略实施和遥测机制。

Collecting Metrics and Logs

This task shows how to configure Istio to automatically gather telemetry for services in a mesh. At the end of this task, a new metric and a new log stream will be enabled for calls to services within your mesh.

The Bookinfo sample application is used as the example application throughout this task.

Before you begin

  • Install Istio in your cluster and deploy an application. This task assumes that Mixer is setup in a default configuration (--configDefaultNamespace=istio-system). If you use a different value, update the configuration and commands in this task to match the value.

Collecting new telemetry data

  1. Create a new YAML file to hold configuration for the new metric and log stream that Istio will generate and collect automatically.

    Save the following as new_telemetry.yaml:

        # Configuration for metric instances
        apiVersion: "config.istio.io/v1alpha2"
        kind: metric
        metadata:
          name: doublerequestcount
          namespace: istio-system
        spec:
          value: "2" # count each request twice
          dimensions:
            source: source.service | "unknown"
            destination: destination.service | "unknown"
            message: '"twice the fun!"'
          monitored_resource_type: '"UNSPECIFIED"'
        ---
        # Configuration for a Prometheus handler
        apiVersion: "config.istio.io/v1alpha2"
        kind: prometheus
        metadata:
          name: doublehandler
          namespace: istio-system
        spec:
          metrics:
          - name: double_request_count # Prometheus metric name
            instance_name: doublerequestcount.metric.istio-system # Mixer instance name (fully-qualified)
            kind: COUNTER
            label_names:
            - source
            - destination
            - message
        ---
        # Rule to send metric instances to a Prometheus handler
        apiVersion: "config.istio.io/v1alpha2"
        kind: rule
        metadata:
          name: doubleprom
          namespace: istio-system
        spec:
          actions:
          - handler: doublehandler.prometheus
            instances:
            - doublerequestcount.metric
        ---
        # Configuration for logentry instances
        apiVersion: "config.istio.io/v1alpha2"
        kind: logentry
        metadata:
          name: newlog
          namespace: istio-system
        spec:
          severity: '"warning"'
          timestamp: request.time
          variables:
            source: source.labels["app"] | source.service | "unknown"
            user: source.user | "unknown"
            destination: destination.labels["app"] | destination.service | "unknown"
            responseCode: response.code | 0
            responseSize: response.size | 0
            latency: response.duration | "0ms"
          monitored_resource_type: '"UNSPECIFIED"'
        ---
        # Configuration for a stdio handler
        apiVersion: "config.istio.io/v1alpha2"
        kind: stdio
        metadata:
          name: newhandler
          namespace: istio-system
        spec:
         severity_levels:
           warning: 1 # Params.Level.WARNING
         outputAsJson: true
        ---
        # Rule to send logentry instances to a stdio handler
        apiVersion: "config.istio.io/v1alpha2"
        kind: rule
        metadata:
          name: newlogstdio
          namespace: istio-system
        spec:
          match: "true" # match for all requests
          actions:
           - handler: newhandler.stdio
             instances:
             - newlog.logentry
        ---
    
  2. Push the new configuration.

    $ istioctl create -f new_telemetry.yaml
    Created config metric/istio-system/doublerequestcount at revision 1973035
    Created config prometheus/istio-system/doublehandler at revision 1973036
    Created config rule/istio-system/doubleprom at revision 1973037
    Created config logentry/istio-system/newlog at revision 1973038
    Created config stdio/istio-system/newhandler at revision 1973039
    Created config rule/istio-system/newlogstdio at revision 1973041
    
  3. Send traffic to the sample application.

    For the Bookinfo sample, visit http://$GATEWAY_URL/productpage in your web browser or issue the following command:

    $ curl http://$GATEWAY_URL/productpage
    
  4. Verify that the new metric values are being generated and collected.

    In a Kubernetes environment, setup port-forwarding for Prometheus by executing the following command:

    $ kubectl -n istio-system port-forward $(kubectl -n istio-system get pod -l app=prometheus -o jsonpath='{.items[0].metadata.name}') 9090:9090 &
    

    View values for the new metric via the Prometheus UI.

    The provided link opens the Prometheus UI and executes a query for values of the istio_double_request_count metric. The table displayed in the Console tab includes entries similar to:

    istio_double_request_count{destination="details.default.svc.cluster.local",instance="istio-mixer.istio-system:42422",job="istio-mesh",message="twice the fun!",source="productpage.default.svc.cluster.local"} 2
    istio_double_request_count{destination="ingress.istio-system.svc.cluster.local",instance="istio-mixer.istio-system:42422",job="istio-mesh",message="twice the fun!",source="unknown"} 2
    istio_double_request_count{destination="productpage.default.svc.cluster.local",instance="istio-mixer.istio-system:42422",job="istio-mesh",message="twice the fun!",source="ingress.istio-system.svc.cluster.local"} 2
    istio_double_request_count{destination="reviews.default.svc.cluster.local",instance="istio-mixer.istio-system:42422",job="istio-mesh",message="twice the fun!",source="productpage.default.svc.cluster.local"} 2
    

    For more on querying Prometheus for metric values, see the Querying Istio Metrics task.

  5. Verify that the logs stream has been created and is being populated for requests.

    In a Kubernetes environment, search through the logs for the istio-telemetry pod as follows:

    $ kubectl -n istio-system logs $(kubectl -n istio-system get pods -l istio-mixer-type=telemetry -o jsonpath='{.items[0].metadata.name}') mixer | grep \"instance\":\"newlog.logentry.istio-system\"
    {"level":"warn","ts":"2017-09-21T04:33:31.249Z","instance":"newlog.logentry.istio-system","destination":"details","latency":"6.848ms","responseCode":200,"responseSize":178,"source":"productpage","user":"unknown"}
    {"level":"warn","ts":"2017-09-21T04:33:31.291Z","instance":"newlog.logentry.istio-system","destination":"ratings","latency":"6.753ms","responseCode":200,"responseSize":48,"source":"reviews","user":"unknown"}
    {"level":"warn","ts":"2017-09-21T04:33:31.263Z","instance":"newlog.logentry.istio-system","destination":"reviews","latency":"39.848ms","responseCode":200,"responseSize":379,"source":"productpage","user":"unknown"}
    {"level":"warn","ts":"2017-09-21T04:33:31.239Z","instance":"newlog.logentry.istio-system","destination":"productpage","latency":"67.675ms","responseCode":200,"responseSize":5599,"source":"ingress.istio-system.svc.cluster.local","user":"unknown"}
    {"level":"warn","ts":"2017-09-21T04:33:31.233Z","instance":"newlog.logentry.istio-system","destination":"ingress.istio-system.svc.cluster.local","latency":"74.47ms","responseCode":200,"responseSize":5599,"source":"unknown","user":"unknown"}
    

Understanding the telemetry configuration

In this task, you added Istio configuration that instructed Mixer to automatically generate and report a new metric and a new log stream for all traffic within the mesh.

The added configuration controlled three pieces of Mixer functionality:

  1. Generation of instances (in this example, metric values and log entries) from Istio attributes

  2. Creation of handlers (configured Mixer adapters) capable of processing generated instances

  3. Dispatch of instances to handlers according to a set of rules

Understanding the metrics configuration

The metrics configuration directs Mixer to send metric values to Prometheus. It uses three stanzas (or blocks) of configuration: instance configuration, handler configuration, and rule configuration.

The kind: metric stanza of config defines a schema for generated metric values (or instances) for a new metric named doublerequestcount. This instance configuration tells Mixer how to generate metric values for any given request, based on the attributes reported by Envoy (and generated by Mixer itself).

For each instance of doublerequestcount.metric, the config directs Mixer to supply a value of 2 for the instance. Because Istio generates an instance for each request, this means that this metric records a value equal to twice the total number of requests received.

A set of dimensions are specified for each doublerequestcount.metric instance. Dimensions provide a way to slice, aggregate, and analyze metric data according to different needs and directions of inquiry. For instance, it may be desirable to only consider requests for a certain destination service when troubleshooting application behavior.

The configuration instructs Mixer to populate values for these dimensions based on attribute values and literal values. For instance, for the source dimension, the new config requests that the value be taken from the source.service attribute. If that attribute value is not populated, the rule instructs Mixer to use a default value of "unknown". For the message dimension, a literal value of "twice the fun!" will be used for all instances.

The kind: prometheus stanza of config defines a handler named doublehandler. The handler spec configures how the Prometheus adapter code translates received metric instances into prometheus-formatted values that can be processed by a Prometheus backend. This configuration specified a new Prometheus metric named double_request_count. The Prometheus adapter prepends the istio_ namespace to all metric names, therefore this metric will show up in Prometheus as istio_double_request_count. The metric has three labels matching the dimensions configured for doublerequestcount.metric instances.

For kind: prometheus handlers, Mixer instances are matched to Prometheus metrics via the instance_name parameter. The instance_name values must be the fully-qualified name for Mixer instances (example: doublerequestcount.metric.istio-system).

The kind: rule stanza of config defines a new rule named doubleprom. The rule directs Mixer to send all doublerequestcount.metric instances to the doublehandler.prometheus handler. Because there is no match clause in the rule, and because the rule is in the configured default configuration namespace (istio-system), the rule is executed for all requests in the mesh.

Understanding the logs configuration

The logs configuration directs Mixer to send log entries to stdout. It uses three stanzas (or blocks) of configuration: instance configuration, handler configuration, and rule configuration.

The kind: logentry stanza of config defines a schema for generated log entries (or instances) named newlog. This instance configuration tells Mixer how to generate log entries for requests based on the attributes reported by Envoy.

The severity parameter is used to indicate the log level for any generated logentry. In this example, a literal value of "warning" is used. This value will be mapped to supported logging levels by a logentry handler.

The timestamp parameter provides time information for all log entries. In this example, the time is provided by the attribute value of request.time, as provided by Envoy.

The variables parameter allows operators to configure what values should be included in each logentry. A set of expressions controls the mapping from Istio attributes and literal values into the values that constitute a logentry. In this example, each logentry instance has a field named latency populated with the value from the attribute response.duration. If there is no known value for response.duration, the latency field will be set to a duration of 0ms.

The kind: stdio stanza of config defines a handler named newhandler. The handler spec configures how the stdio adapter code processes received logentry instances. The severity_levels parameter controls how logentry values for the severity field are mapped to supported logging levels. Here, the value of "warning" is mapped to the WARNING log level. The outputAsJson parameter directs the adapter to generate JSON-formatted log lines.

The kind: rule stanza of config defines a new rule named newlogstdio. The rule directs Mixer to send all newlog.logentry instances to the newhandler.stdio handler. Because the match parameter is set to true, the rule is executed for all requests in the mesh.

A match: true expression in the rule specification is not required to configure a rule to be executed for all requests. Omitting the entire match parameter from the spec is equivalent to setting match: true. It is included here to illustrate how to use match expressions to control rule execution.

Cleanup

  • Remove the new telemetry configuration:

    $ istioctl delete -f new_telemetry.yaml
    
  • If you are not planning to explore any follow-on tasks, refer to the Bookinfo cleanup instructions to shutdown the application.

What’s next